Global Radio – Work Experience

I had a week’s work placement at Global Radio in Manchester in December 2015.

As their main reporter was off on holiday, I took on this role throughout the week and was sent out on reports every day. I thoroughly enjoyed this as I was able to cover some of their top news stories and produce some strong news packages.

One of the packages I produced was when Tim Peake became the first British astronaut to visit the International Space Station. I joined pupils at Salford City Academy who were watching the launch.

They were supporting Tim Peake’s mission by carrying out a ‘Space to Earth Challenge’; cycling, running and bounding the 400km distance from earth to space.

Listen to some of my interviews which were broadcast on Capital and Heart.

I also produced a package on the Manchester Christmas Blitz as it was coming up to 75-years since the bombs shook the city. This was really interesting as I was given the chance to interview survivors and historians from the Imperial War Museum North and be creative with my package by featuring sound effects of explosives and bombs. This package was broadcast on Heart’s Nightly News programme at 6:45pm on December 22.

Listen to my package below.

Another one of my  highlights was on my first day working for Global. I interviewed a mother from Merseyside who was calling for a change in the law, so convicted murderers cannot be released from jail until they reveal where their victim’s bodies are hidden. Marie McCourt gave me some really strong and emotional words and reporting stories like this made me proud to be a journalist.

Listen to my interview which was broadcast on Heart’s Nightly News programme.

The interview was also broadcast on Smooth Radio and Capital and made the top story in their bulletins.

Take a listen to my interviews played out on Smooth Radio.

You can listen to the full interview below.

I was also given the opportunity to practice reading some news bulletins.

You can listen to my demo Capital news bulletin below.

I really enjoyed my week working for Global Manchester and they even invited me back to carry out some regular freelance work with them in the new year. I must have impressed!

Leave a Reply

