BBC Radio Cambridgeshire – Work Experience

IMG_1789

Sitting in on Andy Harper’s mid-morning show

I had two weeks work experience at BBC Radio Cambridgeshire in August 2014.

I had a fantastic time learning how regional radio news is produced in my home city, and I carried out a range of work both in the newsroom and the production studio.

In the newsroom, I researched and scripted news stories and questions for presenters on the BBC’s content management system ENPS and organised live and pre-recorded interviews. I also contributed story ideas during morning news meetings.

I was sent out on a few reports for the BBC. I interviewed a builder from Milton about a disastrous DIY experience he was called out for. This interview was broadcast on the breakfast show.

Listen to my interview here.

I also carried out some vox pops which were broadcast on air. Take a listen…

During the placement, I took on the role of a broadcast assistant for Andy Harper’s Mid-Morning show.

IMG_1800

This involved answering calls from listeners and editing the recordings for air. I also transferred calls to studio and helped gather content for the show. This was great fun and the BBC said they would be happy to have me back as a BA in the future. Result!

On my final day of work experience, I was lucky enough to be asked to be a runner for BBC Radio Cambridgeshire on one of their outside broadcasts. This was really enjoyable and some of my responsibilities included carrying out health and safety procedures, reminding the presenter Andy Harper of how much time he had while he presented his live links and selecting and preparing guests to talk on air.

IMG_1826

The team were very friendly and the placement made me feel comfortable and keen to pursue a career in regional radio news in the future.

Leave a comment