Newsround – Work Experience 2014

Just six months into University, I was offered a two week work placement at CBBC Newsround. 

I thoroughly enjoyed my time working for the team; I even controlled the autocue for a live TV bulletin and interviewed a spokesperson from Kick it Out for CBBC Match of the Day Kickabout, with the piece being selected for transmission later that day.

Untitled

I wrote a few articles for the online team, writing my own copy in Newsround’s content management system. These were all published on the website.

Here are some examples of my online news stories

Oldest piece of Earth’s crust ever found.

Radio 1’s Grimmy says he’s ‘fine’ after swallowing glass.

Winds cause worst loss of trees in 20 years.

Sochi 2014: Millie Knight picked as ParalympicsGB flagbearer.

I attended and contributed story ideas for the 9:30 news meeting every morning. I was really pleased with how one of my stories I pitched about a Jack Russell puppy surviving after being stuck in a car bonnet, became one of the most viewed stories of the week on the Newsround website. 

I researched stories and organised filming locations working in the planning department, shadowed presenters on stories, helped the presenters think of ideas for good camera shots and coordinated the children who were participating in stories. I also carried out various runner roles such as setting up and packing down the studio.

1798853_10152297390415761_1239358761_n

A selfie of some of the Newsround team and me

I was introduced to the following Newsround systems…

  • Quantel
  • Jupiter
  • Newsround’s CMS
  • ENPS

Overall, it was an amazing experience and it has inspired me to pursue a career in children’s television.

Read my references I received following my work experience at Newsround:

Reference from Liz Simpson, the production manager of Newsround

Untitled email

Reference from Georgina Bowman, deputy editor of CBBC Newsround

georgina bowman

Leave a Reply

